style crush | barbro andersen

Amazing style, effortless grace. Barbro Andersen is our Style Crush! We are big fans of her blog and she was so nice to grant us a little Q&A. I hope her personal style inspires you just as much as she inspires me!

Barkatt, Barbro, Cathrin, Andersen. are all such beautiful names. We know that you were named after an English writer, what was her/his name?
My name is Barbro, and I’m named after the writer Barbra Cartland. My mother was reading a book she had written the first time I kicked from within, and that is why she named me by her.

Do you know the meaning and origin of your name?
It means stranger, strange or foreign. I looked it up several years ago, and found out it derived from a Greek word: barbaros, which means “foreign”.  According to legend, “Saint Barbara” was a young woman killed by her father Dioscorus, who was then killed by a bolt of lightning. She is the patron of architects, geologists, stonemasons and artillerymen – which is very different from my personality. Because of her renown, the name came into general use in the Christian world in the Middle Ages. It’s not a very common name in Norway, though it was locally popular when I was born in the 80’s.

The photography is just as stunning as your style choices. Do you photograph yourself?
Oh, wow, thank you so much! Yes, I do take my own pictures. I prefer doing it that way too, because I have full control of both my looks and the general outcome.

I couldn’t help but notice that you add song lyrics to some of your style posts. Can you give me a few lines from your favorite song at this very moment.
That’s a hard one. I love music, and I always have – and I’ve never been able to choose one song, when asked to. I’ll share the lyrics of one of my all time favorite, though, which is Iris by Goo Goo Dolls.
“And I don’t want the world to see me, ‘cause I don’t think that they’d understand. When everything’s made to be broken, I just want you to know who I am”.

 

I like to call this part of the interview. WWBW- What Would Barbro Wear.

wedding
Faux-fur jacket, gray tee, draped lace skirt, suspenders, ankle boots and a hat.

first date
Thrifted tutu, Paris tee, pearls, white tights and a hat.

art gallery
Velvet leggings, lace dress with a knotted top, blazer and ankle boots.

bike ride
Layers consisting of two shirts, a light jacket, scarf, tights and sneakers.

meet the parents
White long shirt, faux-leather jacket, knee high stockings, booties, hat and some other cute accessories.

Does your Mom influence your style at all? What does she think about fashion blogging and all of the attention you receive?
Yes, in some ways. She’s got this bohemian-sophistication going in, which I both admire and love. I know she is very proud of me, and my accomplishments – she is after all my mother. However, I must say that I’m still amazed someone actually likes me and the way I dress; I’ve always been considered a bit “weird”.

Your most romantic destination?
It’s not the destination that matters, but who you’re with.

What one item in a women’s wardrobe, should she never leave the house without?
Great shoes.

Best fashion advice?
Do not wear what others have worn before you; but what others would want to wear after seeing it on you.

 

Do films ever inspire your wardrobe? If so, what films have left a fashion imprint on you?
Yes, a great deal, but until just recently it has been on a somewhat subconscious level. I’ve never really thought about it, but I do have a fascination regarding the 1920’s movies, and of course Audrey Hepburn. It may have something to do with the whole black and white theme, as it is an immense part of my personal style. Moulin Rouge is however the movie that made the biggest impression on me, as it is my favorite movie of all time. Nicole Kidman played the role perfectly, and I admire her sophisticated style a great deal.

I read that you also have a passion for writing. What sort of things do you enjoy writing about?
Oh, well, that’s pretty much all in the past. I used to write novels, essays and poems, both fictional and what-nots from my own life. I used be a lot more creative, but somewhere along the road something changed. Now I stick to my blog and sometimes I write a little for a website called NorwegianFashion.no, which is mainly about fashion in Norway.

Favorite bad word?
Haha, I really don’t know. Maybe “cunt”? It’s both sexual and disgusting, maybe sexually disgusting. Most bad words I know, and unfortunately use, are in Norwegian.

I love the fact that you refer to your significant other as ‘lover’, I’ve officially decided to refer to mine as such from now on! Hope you don’t mind? 😉
Oh, not at all, sweetie! I think one should always refer to the love in our lives as something other than partner, wife, fiancé and those other boring words. My lover and I have our private little nickname for each other engraved in our engagement-rings as well, but that’s a secret I’ll never tell.

 

Follow her lovely blog at www.barkatt-barbro.blogspot.com

photography: barbro andersen

art direction: me

 

 

  1. what a great interview! she is fantastically gorgeous, has amazing style and takes such beautiful pictures. i’m a big fan of hers, and thanks to her, i’ve now found you! cheers!

      • April in Paris
      • February 7th, 2010

      Yay!!! 🙂

  2. LOVE THIS GIRL.
    She is Stunning.
    Cute blog :3 xx

  3. the best blogger interview EVER!

    xo
    bravegrrl.blogspot.com

      • April in Paris
      • February 7th, 2010

      Thank you bravegrrl. You’re very sweet!

  4. Barbro is awesome!
    I love her style, she’s such an inspiration, and the interview is so great.

  5. she’s so effortlessly stylish and it’s so great she’s getting recognition. wonderful interview and i find how she addresses her partner lovely too.

  6. Thank you so much, wonderful! I love the artwork ❤ You're the best!

      • April in Paris
      • February 7th, 2010

      Thank you! It was such a pleasure… xoxo 🙂

    • Sally Sing
    • February 6th, 2010

    Great interview. Barbro Andersen’s blog is sweet and authentic. A pure pleasure to read. A truly wonderfully talented, intelligent and beautiful girl that one so easily could envy, but all you end up doing is thanking the heavens for the cracked rubber, and her for gracing the stage of the blogworld.

      • April in Paris
      • February 7th, 2010

      So true indeed!

  7. She has a cute and distinct style….good interview too! Thank you for sharing. 🙂

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

